Nomadland Takes the Academy Award for the Best Film of the Year


Nomadland Takes the Academy Award for the Best Film of the Year

The 93rd Academy Awards were presented tonight, and unlike previous years, the Best Picture category was not given out last. Instead, Searchlight’s Nomadland took home the night’s top prize, with star Frances McDormand winning Best Actress, just hours after the film’s director, Chloé Zhao, became the first woman of color to win Best Director.

In a surprise victory over the late Chadwick Boseman of Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, Anthony Hopkins won Best Actor for The Father.

The Father, Judas and the Black Messiah, Mank, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, Sound of Metal, and Soul were the other multiple winners at the ceremony, with Nomadland being the only three-time winner.

Netflix dominated the studio category with seven awards, including two each for Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom and Mank, as well as trophies for three short films. With three wins each, Searchlight (Nomadland) and Warner Bros. (Judas and the Black Messiah and Tenet) were next, followed by Amazon (Sound of Metal), Disney (Soul), and Sony Pictures Classics (Soul) (The Father).

Here is a list of nominees and winners from the Oscars Night.

Best original screenplay

Judas and the Black Messiah


Promising Young Woman – WINNER

Sound of Metal

The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best adapted screenplay

Borat Subsequent Movie film

The Father – WINNER


One Night in Miami

The White Tiger


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here